More speed, less haste.

harder_better_faster_stronger1

I’ve just entered last night’s average mile time into coolrunning.com’s pace calculator. And I have to admit, I got a little scared.

Sustaining that pace over the length of the marathon would put me on course for around three hours, something that I thought was WAY beyond my abilities, and consigned to the ‘what ifs’ section of my own personal biography.

And I know what you’re thinking – “You ran four miles, Trevor. And it nearly killed you (and you needed to poop). Running that pace over the entire marathon is impossible.

But then, the more I think about it, the more the impossible seems possible. Every day, I get fitter and stronger. Every day I can feel my old pace returning (I have a PB of 29:52 for a 10k, set a few years before I gave up running due to my back issues). MY weight continues to fall at an almost alarming speed – I’m down to under 180lbs for the first time in years (I’m a tall guy, so although it sounds a lot, my BMI is well within the healthy range).

And the other mitigating factor? I still have ten weeks until my marathon. Injuries not withstanding, I’m only half way through my training. Looking at my training schedule that I dreamed up enthusiastically ten weeks ago (and haven’t updated for four weeks), I am surprisingly on target; without realising it, I’ve been running pretty much where I should be on any given day. The only factor I never really considered was speed.

Reading back over my posts since I started this blog, I do put a fair bit of emphasis on speed and that’s purely because I’m very competitive, not just with running but in most aspects of my life.

But with running, it’s more about being better than I was, rather than being better than someone else. I need tangible evidence that I’m improving constantly, and with running, those results are always obvious. It’s one of the reasons I analyse every run, and look for the positives even after a bad run or a poor performance.

As much as I hate to admit it, I have become rather obsessed with running. While I’ve always loved running, and found it one of the things I was good at without every really having to learn much about it, now that I’m older and wiser, I want to use every available trick to shave off every possible second I can.

And I will. Because I really don’t know when to quit.

2 thoughts on “More speed, less haste.

Leave a Reply

