Not Dead, just resting.

Wow. I think that’s the longest hiatus I’ve taken on this blog since I started it. Five days. That’s embarrassing. So why the pause? Well, you may recall that in my last post I mentioned that I took a slight tumble down the stairs last Thursday…

What I neglected to mention is that it really was as bad as I hinted at. Not only did I hurt my arm, but also my right knee, and managed to damaged the already fragile discs in my back.

However, like an idiot, I decided that I could still run. I really couldn’t, but I tried anyway.

Want to know the good news? Well, there isn’t any. Actually there is. Kind of.

I did the same 13 mile route on Saturday that I took a couple of weeks before, and despite having real difficulty getting around, I was only two minutes slower than the previous attempt.

However, due to my insistence that I was actually OK, and not in any pain whatsoever, I soon collapsed into a heap onto the bed and remained there until Monday, physically unable to move. A week later, and the best I can manage are tiny pigeon steps that leave me walking like I’ve messed myself, and unable to stand for more than a few minutes at a time.

A visit to the chiropractor who worked miracles last time around is imminent, however, will have to wait until next week. Kasia and I are in the middle of moving house, so priorities, priorities. Kasia doesn’t see it this way, and has call me quite a few choice words over the past week. What can I say? I’m British. It’s stiff upper lip time.

So no, I haven’t been running since. In fact, I haven’t even put on a pair of running shoes at all since the weekend. This has me worried that I’m going to fall dangerously behind in my training, but I’m trying to think of it as a mid-training taper, and still working on my core and trying not to lose to much more weight – I hit under 80kg (under 180lbs) for the first time in years this week, which for a tall guy like me is pretty good. My BMI (for what it’s worth) is now 21.8, which is well within healthy ranges no matter how you look at it.

That’s it for now. Just wanted to let you all know I’m still alive. Perhaps over the next couple of days I shall regale you with tales of my previous running exploits, as I doubt I’ll have any new tales to add for a week or two.

5 thoughts on “Not Dead, just resting.

  1. Trevor, just like you will not lose readers if you don’t blog for *gasp* five days, you will not lose significant fitness if you take the necessary break from running for a few days or weeks. Take care and don’t let that injury get any worse or you may be looking at months of heartache later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The blog part was tongue in cheek. The fitness part does concern me though. It’s far too easy to reach for the peanuts when I’m lying there stuck watching another season of Luther on Netflix in one sitting…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah almost as bad as my kryptonite of chocolate almonds with a thick book. It takes about 2 weeks for aerobic fitness to start declining, and even then if you have a good fitness foundation it can be easily regained. I lost 3 months of running last year, pushing through an injury so now I’m happy sacrificing a week here and there to stop a small problem from becoming a big one.
        Watch those Netflix videos without guilt! It’s not often you’ll get the chance.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you are in so much discomfort. I really sympathize since I can’t run due to injury as well. I worry about falling behind in my training as well, but every time I get injured and have to take time off the rest has done me well and I run so much better. Hang in there. I’m sure you’ll recover soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

